ICTP Prize winner 2021 - Rondrotiana Barimalala

12 Dec 2021 - 11:00

ICTP Prize Winner 2021

Rondrotiana Barimalala of the University of Cape Town, South Africa, and Narendra Ojha of the Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, India, share this year's prize for their important work on diverse aspects of climate change in Africa and Asia.

Rondrotiana Barimalala
The 2021 ICTP Prize is awarded to Rondrotiana Barimalala for her outstanding and pioneering contributions that have advanced our understanding of the role of the Indian Ocean on the climate of Madagascar and southern Africa and its response to climate change through the application of modeling tools and careful data analysis.

Barimalala has also distinguished herself for innovative and engaging approaches to inclusion and dissemination, and tireless efforts in support of climate science in Africa to the benefit of society. Her work confronts climate risk and contributes to a more sustainable planet. Furthermore, Dr. Barimalala has made important contributions to the IPCC Sixth Assessment Report, Working Group 1, which examines the physical basis underpinning past, present and future climate change with policy relevant findings. [full story]