Home > Affiliates


 MARiS – Marine and Antarctic Research Centre for Innovation and Sustainability is the new dedicated centre for interdisciplinary marine research at the University of Cape Town housed in the Dept of Oceanography - formerly known as the Marine Research Institute MA-Re


 Nansen-Tutu Centre for Marine Environmental Research is a joint venture between the Nansen Environmental Centre in Norway and South African partners aimed at capacity building. The Centre is hosted in the Department of Oceanography, UCT.



 SANCOR  South African Network for Coastal and Oceanic Research is an organisation established to create a forum for interaction, collaboration and communication about marine science in the marine and coastal environment. see brochure. The seminars and webinars hosted by SANCOR are held in collaboration with the Dept. of Oceanography.



 ICEMASA  International Centre for Education, Marine and Atmospheric Sciences over Africa was formerly a joint South African and French initiative that involved several institutions, focusing on the marine environment (marine ecosystems, resources management, physical oceanography, ocean-atmosphere exchanges, biogeochemistry) of Southern Africa and the Southern Ocean - term ended. Partners: Dept. of Oceanography (UCT), Dept. of Agriculture Forestry and Fisheries (RSA), Dept. of Environmental Affairs (RSA), Universite de Bretagne Occidentale (France), IRD (France), CNRS (France)